When The Moon Is Full

When the moon is full, I’m reminded of you.

When the moon is full, I’m reminded of how your warm brown eyes seem to sparkle whenever you smile. I’m reminded of your messy hair, and how much you hated it when the old man at the barber shop had cut your hair so short that you had to wear a cap. I’m reminded of how loud you talk with your friends, and how soft your voice would be on the telephone when you say good night. I’m reminded of how you hate taking the train because of the usual crowd during 7 AM as well as during 5 PM, but you would insist on taking it just to spend time with me.

When the moon is full, I’m reminded of you.

I’m reminded of the day you told me you liked me. I’m reminded of how I blushed and told you that I only saw you as a close friend. But you waved it off with your hand, telling me that you’d wait until I could see you as something more.

When the moon is full, I’m reminded of how wonderful your laughter sounds, how your fingers strike the strings of your guitar, and how you sing songs to me on the phone. I’m reminded of how you said you loved me over and over again when I told you I was going to sleep for awhile, and when I woke up two and a half hours after, you were still on the other line, waiting for me to wake up. I asked you if I snored, or if I mumbled something while I was sleeping, and you said, in a sheepish voice, that you heard me say ‘I love you.’

When the moon is full, I’m reminded of you.

I’m reminded of the careful way you hold my hand, how softly you look into my eyes, how sweet your kisses are, how wonderful it is to be loved.

When the moon is full, I’m reminded of you.

I’m reminded of that one time, the day when I saw you to the point of tears. I’m reminded of your words. I’m reminded of your feelings.

Pain.

Anger.

Jealousy.

When the moon is full, I’m reminded of just how much you love me.

When the moon is full, I’m reminded of just how much I’ve hurt you.

When the moon is full, I’m reminded of just how loving you are. I’m reminded of the sweetness, the beauty, the wonder of you.

When the moon is full, I’m reminded of just how much I don’t deserve you.

When the moon is full, I cry.

When the moon is full, I miss you.

It’s a full moon tonight.

I miss you.

Leave a Reply

